Children Summer Reading

girl playing guitar, watercolor style, orange and blue, children's summer reading, Libraries Rock, image copyright 2018 CSLP, artwork by Brian Pinkney

Libraries Rock!

Pick up a free reading log at Mounce Library (Bryan) or Ringer Library (College Station) June 1 to July 31, 2018. Come in for prizes at 15 and 30 days. Last day to turn in reading logs is August 31, 2018. The final prize is a free book. All events are free. Contact Bobbee or Elaine at (979) 209-5600 for more information about Mounce events and Suzy or Cindy at (979) 764-3416 for more information about Ringer events. Please note: Ringer Library is under construction for a project that will add another 12,000 square feet to the building. Due to the construction, we will be holding some of our outdoor programs offsite at Grace Bible Church, Southwood, located at 1901 Harvey Mitchell Pkwy. S. (across FM 2818 from the library, near A&M Consolidated High School). Events that will be held offsite are indicated below.

Weekly Storytimes

MOUNCE LIBRARY (BRYAN) STORYTIMES

  • Baby/Toddler: Thurs., June 7 – July 26, 10:15 a.m.
  • Get Ready to Read: Thurs., June 7 – July 26, 10:40 a.m.
  • Big Kids Nonfiction Storytime: Tues., June 5 – June 26, 3 p.m., PreK-K

RINGER LIBRARY (COLLEGE STATION) STORYTIMES

  • Wiggle Worms: Mon., June 4 – July 30, 9:30 & 10:30 a.m., active babies & toddlers
  • Toddlers: Wed., June 6 – Aug. 1, 10 a.m., ages 2-3
  • Family: Wed., June 6 – Aug. 1, 11 a.m., all ages
  • Babies and Books: Thurs., June 7 – Aug. 2, 9:15 a.m., young babies
  • Wiggle Worms: Thurs., June 7 – Aug. 2, 10 & 11 a.m., active babies & toddlers

 

MOUNCE LIBRARY (BRYAN) CHILDREN’S EVENTS

ALL AGES, NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED:

Animal Day: Sat., June 2 at 9-11 AM, indoors and outdoors

Lego Club: Tues., June 5 – July 24 at 3-4 PM

Big Rigs and Hometown Heroes: Wed., June 6 at 10 a.m. – 12 noon

Juneteenth Arts Festival: Wed., June 13 at 10 a.m. – 12 noon

Movie Morning: Sat., June 23 at 10:30 a.m., Coco, rated PG

Science Rocks at the Library: Wed., July 18 at 10:30 a.m.

KnK Reptile Show: Sat., July 21 at 1-3 p.m.

 

AGES 4 AND UP, NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED:

Family Table-top Game Night: 2nd Fri. at 6:30-8:30 p.m.

  • June 8, July 13

 

ALL AGES, FREE TICKETS, LIMIT 100 PER SHOW:

Get free tickets at 10 a.m.

  • African Safari with Elizabeth Kahura: Fri., June 15 at 10:30 a.m., music and stories, 2 shows in a row
  • Libraries Rock! Make some music!: Wed., July 11 at 10:30 a.m.
  • Domino’s Dough Show: Wed., July 25 at 10:30 a.m., several shows in a row, free pizza for kids

Get free tickets for morning shows at 10 a.m. & for afternoon shows at 12 p.m.

  • Lucas Miller, Singing Zoologist: Wed., June 20 at 10:30 & 11:15 a.m., 12:35 & 1:15 p.m.

Get free tickets for morning show at 10 a.m. & for afternoon show at 3 p.m.

  • TAMU Physics Show with Dr. Tatiana Erukhimova: Wed., June 27 at 10:30 a.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Get free tickets at 11:30 a.m.

  • TAMU Chemistry Show with Dr. Jim Pennington: Sat., July 14 at 12 noon

 

RINGER LIBRARY (COLLEGE STATION) CHILDREN’S EVENTS

ALL AGES, NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED:

Big Rigs: Sat., June 2 at 9-11 a.m., outside Grace Bible Church, Southwood

Circus Chickendog: Tues., June 5 at 10 a.m., outside Grace Bible Church, Southwood

Summer Crafts: Thurs., June 7 at 5:30-6:30 p.m., inside Ringer Library

Animal/Safari Day: Sat., June 9 at 9-11 a.m., Ringer Library parking lot, park at First Baptist

June Family Movie: Sun., June 10 at 2-4 p.m., The Greatest Showman, rated PG, inside Ringer Library

Family Games: Mon., June 11 at 6-8 p.m., inside Ringer Library

Intuitive African Dance & Drum Culture: Tues., June 12 at 10 a.m., outside Grace Bible Church, Southwood

Lucas Miller: Tues., June 19 at 10 a.m., outside Grace Bible Church, Southwood

Cuenta Cuentos (Spanish storytime): Sat., June 23 at 10 a.m., inside Ringer Library

Brett Roberts Bubble Show: Tues., June 26 at 10 a.m., outside Grace Bible Church, Southwood

Day of Dragons and Dinosaurs: Thurs., June 28 at 6-6:45 p.m., inside Ringer Library

Monty the Magician: Tues., July 3 at 10 a.m., magic show, outside Grace Bible Church, Southwood

Cuenta Cuentos (Spanish storytime): Sat., July 7 at 10 a.m., inside Ringer Library

Water Safety: Mon., July 9 at 3 p.m., inside Ringer Library

At the Carnival: Tues., July 10 at 10-11 a.m., carnival games, inside Ringer Library

Edge of Imagination: Tues., July 17 at 10-11 a.m., movie-making, inside Ringer Library

July Family Movie: Sun., July 22 at 2-4 p.m., Paddington 2, rated PG, inside Ringer Library

Music Madness: Tues., July 24 at 10-11 a.m., musical instruments, inside Ringer Library

Animé Family Movie: Thurs., July 26 at 4-5:45 p.m., Mary and the Witch’s Flower, rated PG, inside Ringer Library

Cat’s Meow: Thurs., July 26 at 6-6:45 p.m., inside Ringer Library

Reptile Day: Sat., July 28 at 10 a.m. – 12 p.m., & 2-4 p.m., inside Ringer Library

Brazos Valley Bombers Storytime: Fri., Aug. 3 at 10-11:30 a.m., inside Ringer Library

Paws for Books Book Fair: week of Aug. 13, schedule to be announced, inside Ringer Library

August Family Movie: Sat., Aug 25 at 2-4 p.m., Peter Rabbit, rated PG, inside Ringer Library

 

IT’S ELEMENTARY (K-4TH), NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED:

Juggling Magic: Fri., June 15 at 1 p.m., Matt Tardy will teach kids how to juggle, inside Ringer Library

Tie Dye Your Summer: Fri., July 20 at 10 a.m., bring a white shirt, inside Ringer Library

Puppet Mania: Fri., Aug. 10 at 10-11:30 a.m., inside, create a puppet show, inside Ringer Library

 

2nd-12TH, NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED:

What is Magic?: Tues., July 3 at 1 p.m., learn magic tricks from Monty, inside Ringer Library

 

ALL AGES, REGISTRATION REQUIRED:

Domino’s Dough Show: Tues., July 31 at 11 a.m. – 12 p.m., free pizza for kids, inside Ringer Library

 

AGES 2-17, REGISTRATION REQUIRED:

SMILE (special needs storytime): Sun., June 24, July 15, Aug. 5 at 2:30-3:30 p.m., inside Ringer Library

 

3RD-4TH GRADE, REGISTRATION REQUIRED:

Book Blast: Thurs., June 7 – July 26 at 2-3 p.m., inside Ringer Library

Related Programs


THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSORS!

Images are copyrighted. Contact the CSLP at 1-866-657-8556 or contact@cslpreads.org for more information.

Print Friendly