Teen/Tween Summer Reading

GetInTheGameRead_whbg_200h
Images are copyrighted. Contact the CSLP at 1-866-657-8556 or contact@cslpreads.org for more information.

GET IN THE GAME, READ!

Pick up a free reading log June 1 – July 31. Turn it in by Aug. 31 for a free book.

If you are going into 5th grade or higher, you can do the teen/tween reading log. Younger children can pick up children’s reading logs, and we also have reading logs for adults. Bring your reading log in for a halfway prize after reading 15 days and for your final prize after reading 30 days. You have until August 31 to turn in your completed reading log.

BCSPLS TEEN/TWEEN POOL PARTY (5th-12th grade)*

  • Mon., July 25, 7:30-9:30 PM: Meet at Adamson Lagoon, 1900 Anderson St., College Station, TX 77840. Free swimming & snacks. Attend at least 2 teen and/or tween events & have a signed permission slip. Permission slips available at teen & tween events and from kperkins@bryantx.gov.

MOUNCE LIBRARY (BRYAN) TEEN/TWEEN EVENTS (5th-12th grade)

  • Chips & Dip Book Swap: Thurs., June 9, 3-5 PM – bring up to 3 books to exchange, & make a craft
  • Chemistry Road Show for Teens: Thurs., June 16, 3-5 PM – Dr. Jim Pennington from TAMU
  • Shuffle with the BV Bombers: Thurs., June 23, 3-5 PM – learn the Cupid Shuffle
  • Recipe Pro Demo: Thurs., June 30, 3-5 PM – sample a recipe made by 4-H, & make a craft
  • Cake Pops R Wicked: Thurs., July 14, 3-5 PM – make & eat cake pops, & make a craft
  • Game Day Unplugged: Thurs., July 21, 3-5 PM – snacks served
  • Fun for Foodies: Thurs., July 28, 3-5 PM – pita sandwiches, bring a recipe to exchange

RINGER LIBRARY (COLLEGE STATION) TWEEN EVENTS (5th-6th grade)

  • Ice Cream Social and Book Swap: Fri., June 3, 12:30 – 1:30 PM – bring a teen/tween book to trade.
  • Hour of Code: Thurs., July 7, 4:30 – 6:30 PM – share a library laptop or bring your own.
  • Back to School Party: Sat., Aug. 27, 1:30 – 2:30 PM:

RINGER LIBRARY (COLLEGE STATION) TEEN EVENTS (7th-12th grade)*

  • Late Night at the Library: Mon., June 20, 7-11 PM – lock-in, registration required.
  • TEENS Publish: Wed., June 1 – July 27 (not July 6), 2:30-5 PM – creative writing/illustrating, applications available in May, limited to 20 people.

RINGER LIBRARY (COLLEGE STATION) TEEN/TWEEN EVENTS (5th-12th grade)

  • Imagication: Fri., June 10, 2-4 PM – learn magic tricks from magician John O’Bryant
  • iDirect: Sat., June 18, 1-5 PM – make stop-motion video with the Edge of Imagination Station
  • Mud Wars: Mon., June 27, 6-8 PM – messy outdoor games, wear old clothes
  • Painting Yourself: Sat., July 9, 2-4 PM – t-shirt painting, bring a t-shirt
  • If you Give a Teen a Cookie: Mon., July 11, 6-8 PM – cookie decorating
  • Without Music, Life Would b Flat: Fri., July 15, 2-4 PM – bring an instrument if you play one
  • Around the Year in 80 Minutes: Mon., July 18, 6-8 PM – seasonal crafts

*Registration required for starred events. Events are free. Some have limited space.

  • Call (979) 209-5615 for information about Mounce events.
  • Call (979) 764-3416 to register for Ringer events.

MOUNCE (BRYAN) TEEN VOLUNTEERS

  • Join the Mounce Teen Advisory Board (7th-12th grade).
  • Contact Elaine at (979) 209-5615.

RINGER (CS) TEEN VOLUNTEERS

  • Join the Ringer Teen Advisory Board (7th-12th grade).
  • Apply for summer Job Skills (9th-12th grade) April 1-30.
  • Contact Cindy at (979) 764-3416 or coser@bryantx.gov.

Related Programs


THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSORS!

Print Friendly