Education

The Bryan + College Station Public Library is committed to creating a superior educational and research experience for all of its patrons.

Databases

Illustration of people searching databases for information.

The Bryan + College Station Public Library System is proud to be a public research facility and knowledge repository, and it provides access to a wide array of searchable databases for use by its patrons. These databases include local and state data, historical newspapers, educational resources and ancestry and genealogy archives. No matter what you’re looking for, the library system’s databases likely have an answer.

Explore our databases

NewsBank

The library subscribes to NewsBank for electronic access to our local newspaper, The Eagle, as well as online access to national magazines and newspapers, including the Houston Chronicle, Austin American-Statesman and USA Today. All NewsBank resources are available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Online coverage from The Eagle dates from 1999 to the present. Older newspapers may be viewed on microfilm at the Carnegie History Center.

To view articles on NewsBank, log in with your library card number (bar code from the back of your library card; no spaces). If you have any questions, contact a librarian for help.

America’s News

Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. This database features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the United States.

The Eagle

Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of The Eagle

Austin American-Statesman Collection

Explore Austin area history through local news, events and people with the Austin American-Statesman Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.  

Texshare Databases

TexShare Databases are commercial database subscriptions that are paid for by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) and the Telecommunications Infrastructure Fund Board for use by registered patrons of Texas public libraries, Texas State governmental agency libraries, Texas academic libraries and libraries of clinical medicine.

There is no charge to patrons who use the TexShare Databases, but you will need to have a current, valid library card from the Bryan + College Station Public Library System. You can then obtain a login and password which will allow you to access the databases outside of the library branches themselves.

When accessing TexShare, you will need to select our library and type in the password you obtained.

If you have any questions or need help accessing TexShare, contact us. You may also use the help screens contained in the databases themselves. Each guide is provided by the vendor for that particular database.

Ancestry® Library Edition

Ancestry® Library Edition, a genealogy research database, offers census, vital, church, court, and immigration records for the United States and the United Kingdom, as well as collected records from other areas including Canada. Some of the key historical collections include U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930, American Genealogical Biographical Index, Social Security Death Index, and a Map Center of more than 1,000 historical maps.

Fold3 Library Edition (TexShare) – Military Records Database

Fold3 Library Edition, a TexShare Database, provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. The records at Fold3 help you discover and share stories about these everyday heroes, forgotten soldiers, and the families that supported them. On Fold3, you can combine records found on the site with what you have in your own albums and shoeboxes to create an online memorial for someone who served.

As with accessing other TexShare Databases, you will need to have a current, valid library card from the Bryan + College Station Public Library System. You can then obtain a login and password which will allow you to access the databases outside of the library branches themselves.

When accessing TexShare, you will need to select our library and type in the password you obtained.

If you have any questions or need help accessing TexShare, contact us. You may also use the help screens contained in the databases themselves. Each guide is provided by the vendor for that particular database.

Thomson Gale Legal Forms provides official state specific, federal, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues. You can browse by category or search for a specific form title.

You must have a current, valid library card from the Bryan + College Station Public Library System to access this database. Then you can contact a reference librarian to get the password for this database.

Explora

Explora is an easy-to-search interface for students in three age levels: Grades K-5, Grades 6-12 and older patrons looking for magazine and newspaper articles, books and other reference materials on a variety of topics.

Explora – Elementary focuses on topics such as animals, art, music, geography, language arts, math, science and social studies, while Explora –High School focuses on curriculum-related topics.

You must have a current, valid library card from the Bryan + College Station Public Library System to access this database.

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

This database holds a collection of leading hobby and craft magazines with detailed how-to instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.

You must have a current, valid library card from the Bryan + College Station Public Library System to access this database.

Job and Career Accelerator

This job search and career exploration resource has more than 1,100 occupations, sample resumes and cover letters, current job and internship postings, and guidance on preparing for and getting a job.

You must have a current, valid library card from the Bryan + College Station Public Library System to access this database.

Search this website


Get the Newsletter

Sign up for our electronic newsletter that comes out biweekly. Don't miss any of the exciting events happening at the library! 

Education and research