The staff members and volunteers of the Bryan + College Station Public Library System seek to engage, enlighten, empower and inform life-long learners in the Brazos Valley.


The staff members and volunteers of the Bryan + College Station Public Library System seek to engage, enlighten, empower and inform life-long learners in the Brazos Valley.

Advisory Board

Stacks of books.

Meetings are held at 5 p.m. on the third Wednesday of January, March, May, July, September and November. The location of the meeting rotates between the Clara B. Mounce Public Library, the Carnegie History Center and the Larry J. Ringer Library.

For more information, please use our online contact form.

The Board consists of the following members:

Bryan members

  • Dr. Eliel Hinojosa, Jr., Vice President – Seat 2
  • Garrett Cline – Seat 4
  • Laura Mills – Seat 6
  • Sonja Adams – Seat 8

College Station members

  • Vacant – Seat 1
  • Daniel Rudge – Seat 3
  • Virginia Higdon – Seat 5
  • Megan Wilson, President – Seat 7

Advisory Board bylaws


The Board shall be comprised of eight members. Four members from Bryan shall be appointed by the Bryan City Council and four members from College Station shall be appointed by the College Station City Council. All terms will be two-year terms.

Library System Director

The Library System Director shall be an ex-officio member of the Board. The Library System Director, or the Director’s designee, shall attend all Board meetings.


The Advisory Board shall perform the following duties: encourage the development of the library system; recommend to the city councils policies and programs for the advancement of the libraries; cooperate with all other public and private groups in advancing the best interests of the library system; render to the city councils all recommendations it considers advisable regarding the library system.


Officers of the Board shall be chosen at the second meeting of the year and shall be: president and vice-president. Officers shall serve for one year. The president shall preside at all meetings, appoint special committees as needed and authorize calls for any special meetings. The vice-president assumes the duties of president in the absence of the president.


Special committees may be appointed by the president. Such committees are to serve until the completion of the work for which they were appointed. All committees are expected to make a progress report at each Board meeting.


The Board shall meet every other month beginning with January. The Library System Director shall provide a secretary to keep a permanent record of the meetings. The Board shall comply with the State of Texas Open Meetings Act and other laws of the state and the cities of Bryan and College Station. Special meetings may be called by the president, or upon the request of four members, for consideration of only the business stated in the call for the meeting. Notice of special meetings shall be sent at least three business days in advance.


A quorum for the transaction of business shall consist of five members of the Board.

Amendment of bylaws

These bylaws may be amended at any regular meeting of the Board when a quorum is present by unanimous vote, providing the amendment was stated in the call for the meeting. When unanimous vote is not obtained, the proposed amendment may be placed on a future agenda at which time a majority vote is required for passage.

  • Adopted: January 20, 1998
  • Amended: October 19, 2010
  • Amended: March 20, 2012
  • Corrected: May 18, 2012
  • Amended: April 27, 2016

Search this website

Get the Newsletter

Sign up for our electronic newsletter that comes out biweekly. Don't miss any of the exciting events happening at the library!